Kennedy and Boyd

Photographed on the Brain: Collected Stories and Sketches Volume 1
Click to enlarge >> 
By Cunninghame Graham, R.B. With Introductions by Alan MacGillivray and John C. McIntyre.
ISBN 1849211000
SERIES The Cunninghame Graham Collection
Paperback  352 pages
Published 30 September 2011
UK Price £16.95   Order from
US Price $25.00   Order from

The works by R.B. Cunninghame Graham in this volume were published between 1895 and 1899. Notes on the District of Menteith (1895), while not a collection of stories, is included because it was Graham's first book, a brief survey of the district of Scotland around Graham's house and ancestral estate of Gartmore. In a sense, it is the physical, social and historical landscape seen from the windows of his own home. Father Archangel of Scotland (1896) is a collection of essays and sketches from the hands of both Robert and his wife Gabriela, their only joint literary venture. The Ipané (1899) is Graham's first true collection of his own short stories and sketches, although he had already published a travel book, Mogreb-Al-Acksa (1898), about his experiences in Morocco.

"...a sort of record of a dream, dreamed upon pampas and on prairies, sleeping upon a saddle under the southern stars, or galloping across the plains in the hot sun, photographed in youth upon the writer's brain..." (The Ipané, "The Lazo"

Alan MacGillivray is a specialist in Scottish Literature, who has lectured at the University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, and is a former President of the Association for Scottish Literary Studies. John C. McIntyre taught Spanish Language and Latin American Literature at the University of Strathclyde, Glasgow. He holds a postgraduate Diploma in Scottish Literature.

© Kennedy & Boyd, an imprint of Zeticula Ltd., Unit 13, 196 Rose Street, Edinburgh EH24AT, Scotland